16 September
Tosca Opdam – violin
Pamela Smits – cello
Nicolas van Poucke – piano

"Whenever I tried to sing of love, it turned into pain, and again, when I tried to sing of pain, it turned into love." Schubert, in a letter in 1822.

Near the end of his much-too-short life Schubert composed these two grand piano trios. Robert Schumann, composer and influential music critic, wrote about this pair of epic trios in an ecstatic review: "A glance at Schubert's trio in B-flat major and all miserable human condition vanishes and the world shines in a new splendour. It seems to be more passive, lyric and feminine than the famous trio in E-flat major. Let the work, which he bequeathed to us, be a precious legacy."

He regarded the trio in E-flat major as masculine, strong, dark, like an angry comet streaking across the sky, describing the 'funeral march' as "A sigh that rises to a cry of terror." What glowing and imaginative reviews!

In this concert, the Artist in Residence baton has already been handed over from Tosca Opdam to Nicolas van Poucke. Together with Pamela Smits, the three top-notch musicians join forces in a performance of the original longer version.

Epic Piano Trios

FRANZ SCHUBERT (1797-1828)

Nicolas van Poucke

Pianotrio nr. 1 in B-flat major D. 898,
opus 99

– Intermission –

Pianotrio nr. 2 in E-major D. 929,
opus 100