10 June
Pamela Smits – cello solo
Carel den Hertog – conductor
Netherlands Youth String Orchestra (NJSO)

“Our love rose to infinite heights and filled the Universe. Two souls were enraptured."
- Anton Webern

The NJSO is the string orchestra for young talented string players. These whiz-kids are often already sitting in young talent classes or preparatory courses at Dutch conservatories. With his enormous energy, skill, and infectious enthusiasm, conductor Carel den Hertog stimulates these young musicians to a very high musical and technical level, often collaborating with world-renowned soloists.

Tonight's soloist Pamela Smits will not only perform the joyous and virtuosic Haydn cello concerto in C major, but also a composition by the American composer Heather Pinkham, especially written for her; a world premiere!

The concert will be an exciting meeting between the First and Second Viennese schools. The light and subtle delicate style of the classical period will alternate with the high romanticism and avant-garde. And who knows, maybe another surprise will be served as well! Experience it live and discover what surprises Vienna has in store for you!

Wiener Sachertorte

W.A. Mozart
Adagio and Fugue in C minor KV. 546

Anton Webern
Langsamer Satz
(arr. Gerard Schwartz)

Joseph Haydn
Cello concerto No. 1 in C major Hob. VIIb:1

– Intermission –

Alban Berg
Piano sonata Op. 1, for string orchestra
(arr. Wijnand van Klaveren)

Ludwig van Beethoven
String quartet Op. 18 No. 1, 2nd mvt.
(arr. Ramon Dor)

Heather Pinkham
'Shadows Fade' for cello solo and string orchestra (World premiere!)
(on a theme from Mozart’s Lacrimosa)

Prices for this event:
Box office: € 27,50
Presale: € 25
Registered Friends: € 20


Order tickets

DMC Firewall is a Joomla Security extension!